Spa Valley Railway » Children's Events

Steam & Heritage Diesel Train Rides

Douglas will be hauling trains on Thursday 5th August!

Take a steam and heritage diesel train ride through the High Weald!
Enjoy a train ride this with a steam locomotive and a heritage diesel between Tunbridge Wells West and Eridge, calling at High Rocks and Groombridge. You can sit back and relax letting the train take the strain, which is perfect on those damp rainy moments or bright sunny days!

Trains depart from Tunbridge Wells West at 10:30, 11:55, 13:25, 14:45 and 16:15.
Trains depart from Eridge at 11:15, 12:35, 14:05, 15:25 and 16:55. 

Full Green timetable here

COVID-19 - 19th July onwards.
Customers can travel all day and board or alight at any of our stations! High Rocks, Groombridge and Eridge will all are open for full boarding and alighting to explore the surrounding areas too. Regular cleaning of our train door handles and other surfaces continues throughout the day and passengers can choose to to wear a facemask, however, some of our volunteers may request you do so to make them feel more comfortable when speaking to you. Please respect any of our volunteers requests. 

What to see and do along the line?

Fares

FAQs

  1. Can I break my journey (i.e. alight at another station)? Yes, you can but we cannot guarantee you the same seats for your return later on.
  2. Can I travel all day? Yes.
  3. How are you managing numbers? We are monitoring online bookings and limiting ticket sales on the day. We have extended the length of our train to accomodate extra passengers and reduced dining down to one coach giving extra capacity.
  4. Do I have to wear a face covering? It is now a personal choice, however, our volunteers may request you wear one for their own peace of mind. 
  5. Do I need to print my eTicket? You can either print or show your eTicket on a mobile device. 
  6. What stations are open? Tunbridge Wells West, High Rocks, Groombridge & Eridge are all open to board and alight at. 
  7. Does this mean I can arrive by mainline train at Eridge? Yes, if you wish to make use of our mainline connection you can start and/or finish at Eridge.
  8. How long is one return trip? Around 1hr 15 minutes.
  9. Are steam engines running? Yes, Douglas or Sir Keith Park are hauling trains along with a heritage diesel. 
  10. Are tickets for a return trip? Yes, all tickets sold online are for unlimited travel. 
  11. Do I have to purchase tickets in advance? No, but we recommend it to avoid queuing. Tickets are available on the day from all stations. 
  12. How much is it? £10 per adult, £9 per senior (60+), £5 per child (2-15yrs), £30 per family (2A+2C)

Book tickets

Thu 05 Aug 2021
Open Day Event departing from: Tunbridge Wells West
Thu 12 Aug 2021
Open Day Event departing from: Tunbridge Wells West
Sat 14 Aug 2021
Open Day Event departing from: Tunbridge Wells West
Sun 15 Aug 2021
Open Day Event departing from: Tunbridge Wells West
Thu 19 Aug 2021
Open Day Event departing from: Tunbridge Wells West
Sat 21 Aug 2021
Open Day Event departing from: Tunbridge Wells West
Sun 22 Aug 2021
Open Day Event departing from: Tunbridge Wells West
Thu 26 Aug 2021
Open Day Event departing from: Tunbridge Wells West
Sat 28 Aug 2021
Open Day Event departing from: Tunbridge Wells West
Sun 29 Aug 2021
Open Day Event departing from: Tunbridge Wells West
Mon 30 Aug 2021
Open Day Event departing from: Tunbridge Wells West
Thu 02 Sep 2021
Open Day Event departing from: Tunbridge Wells West
Sun 05 Sep 2021
Open Day Event departing from: Tunbridge Wells West
Sat 18 Sep 2021
Open Day Event departing from: Tunbridge Wells West
Sun 19 Sep 2021
Open Day Event departing from: Tunbridge Wells West
Sun 26 Sep 2021
Open Day Event departing from: Tunbridge Wells West
Sat 09 Oct 2021
Open Day Event departing from: Tunbridge Wells West
Sun 10 Oct 2021
Open Day Event departing from: Tunbridge Wells West
Sat 16 Oct 2021
Open Day Event departing from: Tunbridge Wells West
Sun 17 Oct 2021
Open Day Event departing from: Tunbridge Wells West
Sat 23 Oct 2021
Open Day Event departing from: Tunbridge Wells West
Sun 24 Oct 2021
Open Day Event departing from: Tunbridge Wells West
Tue 26 Oct 2021
Open Day Event departing from: Tunbridge Wells West
Wed 27 Oct 2021
Open Day Event departing from: Tunbridge Wells West
Thu 28 Oct 2021
Open Day Event departing from: Tunbridge Wells West

Booking information

On the day of your visit you MUST have your eTickets available to show either in a print out or on a mobile device, both will be checked visually by a member of staff before boarding the train.

Note that a £10 admin fee applies to all booking alterations.

Click here to view our refund, cancellation and alterations policy

Booking with vTicket